Uncategorized

Observation 3/25/07

After meeting with a friend for coffee, we were talking in the parking lot when a slightly frazzled woman approached. She could have been construed as loony or artistic.

“You guys have any change you could pass on?” she inquired.

I usually hesitate in giving out loose change, preferring to give it to reputable organizations or the record store. But I was recently inspired by a friend who gave money to a hitchhiker at a gas station, and so I fished a dollar bill from my pocket.

Then she said wearily: “Thanks. I’ve been hitchhiking for 50 miles and I think I got enough to get a salad at Trader Joe’s now.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

