Uncategorized

RIP, David Foster Wallace

I just read the news this morning that David Foster Wallace committed suicide. I first heard Foster Wallace as a guest on Michael Feldman’s “Whaddya Know? I remember that I was driving from Milwaukee to Madison to go camping with some friends. It was a beautiful summer day and the miles were buried beneath my tires and I passed the time listening to Feldman and Foster Wallace go back and forth. 

After hearing that interview, I picked up his book, “A supposedly fun thing I’ll never do again.” If you have a chance, read the chapter on visiting the State Fair. I also tried to read his novel “Infinite Jest” during my time in Peace Corps, but could never quite get through it. 

The best pieces I ever read from him were his essays that appeared in various magazines. His commencement address to the graduates of Kenyon University in 2005 is a document I always keep around when I’m in need of periodic inspiration. 

You should read it here now.

Thanks.

Standard

Leave a Reply

