beefjerky, hell, Holy crap, petpeeve

TSA Still Bites Donkey

Or actually, I should say Covenant Aviation Security, a private company charged with protecting our great land from threats unseen, still bites donkey. I wrote about this earlier here. On a return trip from California, I carefully wrapped my beloved Voightlander camera in swaddling clothing to protect it from the rigors of baggage handling. I have traveled fairly regularly over the past 10 years and have never had a problem packing my camera this way.

But on this recent trip, a screener decided to rifle through my belongings and found my camera. I assume s/he looked at it and seeing no threat, simply thrust it back in my backpack neglecting to properly wrap the camera.

This action resulted in the lens hood of my camera being bent and made unusable in the process of baggage handling. Once I discovered the problem, I attempted to contact Covenant Aviation Security to file a claim for this part of my camera. I did not receive a call back, even after making three calls to their offices. I imagine they were likely very busy incorrectly repacking bags so that other people could understand the joys of trying to file a claim with them.

It wasn’t until a blogger from the TSA read my blog entry on the subject that someone from Covenant Aviation Security finally contacted me saying that they’d never received my claim though I’d faxed and mailed it. I would like to give a shout out to Amy at Covenant who was very helpful though.

But then in December I received a letter, two months later, denying my claim. They essentially stated that they were merely doing the job the government wanted them to do and as such they had no responsibility. They would only pay for claims arising from negligence or intentional wrongdoing. 

While I don’t think it was intentional wrongdoing on the screener’s part, I sure as hell find him/her negligent. How can you go through the process of unwrapping an item and then not bother to rewrap it and just toss it in the bag and then blame the passenger? 

AAAARRRRGGGGHHH!!!!! I don’t understand this world. How does protecting the good people of the United States from horrible terrorists involve also breaking their cameras? This is the last I will write on this subject embarking on more mirthful enchanting tales, but I just had to register my spite for Covenant Aviation Security in blog form once again.

If you have a chance, please send a letter to claims@covenantsecurity.com to tell them how much you love them.

Standard

One thought on “TSA Still Bites Donkey

  1. kozmosis says:

    Tis’ never about you my friend … tis only about the ghosts in the machine … unfortunately, I can’t joke about Aviation Security, lest the governmental gremlins scourge my being … 😦

Leave a Reply

