Uncategorized

Going Rogue with Sarah Palin

This weekend, I was perusing my dictionary. I know you can look words up online at the touch of your fingers, but something about turning  pages and flipping through words feels good. Why heck, you could learn a word you would not have run into otherwise. Like this one:

roily – 1. turbid; muddy. 2. turbulent

So it was, while perusing the dictionary, that I felt the need to clarify a word. After seeing Sarah Palin’s new book on stands and witnessing a drunk person try to recite an entry from the book (a drunk person who then fell on my baritone horn and bent the bell), I decided to look up the word ‘rogue.’

I always assumed that rogue was akin to rebel or someone who didn’t follow the rules, but overall had good intentions. If you had asked me, that’s what I would have said, but my Random House Webster’s Dictionary said this:

rogue – 1. a dishonest person; scoundrel.

I thought that was curious, so I looked at the Merriam Webster Dictionary and it said, “1. vagrant, tramp 2. a dishonest or worthless person : scoundrel”

And to represent the online definitions, http://www.freedictionary.com stated, “1. An unprincipled, deceitful, and unreliable person; a scoundrel or rascal. 2. One who is playfully mischievous; a scamp. 3. A wandering beggar; a vagrant.”

I know that ‘going rogue,’ like an elephant means getting away from the herd and taking a different path, but looking at the other definitions, is that the best you could come up with?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Going Rogue with Sarah Palin

  1. Ryan Freund says:

    Even though I’m as conservative as they come (notice I didn’t use the Republican word), and it’s hard for me to admit, your article brings to light an interesting point. While definitions and words seem to change and morph over generations (i.e., the word “gay” very rarely is used to refer to a happy person), one is still hit in the face by the fact that this was a poor word choice.

    Who came up with idea to use the word “rogue?” If she came up with it, is there not somebody in her life that could/should have advised her that it may not have the best connotation? If somebody else advised her to use the word, why didn’t she have the common sense to understand that somebody was calling her a vagrant?

    You’ve inspired me to read the dictionary, my dear Freund.

  2. You have inspired me yet again … not only to learn new words, but to make up my own newer words and inflict my insular vocabulary on unsuspecting folk … for instance:

    “roardee beep” – tired, ready for bed

    “sligger ‘n owl” – excitement, happiness

    You, my dear Freund, are my new guru …

Leave a Reply

