Germany, Holy crap

Gathering together

Building and gathering

A month ago I wrote somewhat whimsically about getting rid of things. As I prepared for a move to Germany and cleaned out my home, I realized how much of this earth we pile up around ourselves.

And now after reducing my belongings to nearly nothing, I find myself in Bonn, Germany, looking around my mostly empty apartment trying to prioritize. What do I need? What makes life easier and what is necessary?

When I arrived I had a bed and kitchen table waiting for me, but little else. So I wander around town like a busy ant looking for items to carry home. I’m trying to be more conscious of what I select. How many forks? What about glasses and mugs?

I went back and watched the Story of Stuff again. If you haven’t seen it, you should.

Standard

One thought on “Gathering together

  1. Kyle has landed. Woot-woot! 🙂 A friend and I were just discussing (as in 15 minutes before I read this blog post) “stuff” because she’s moving state again and is a “cosmic gypsy,” and we have several friends we’ve both recently helped move. One of my favorites: _Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui_ (Karen Kingston)… and one my friend’s recommendations: _Mutant Message Down Under_ by Marlo Morgan. You seem to rock better than most at the anti-stuff thang, Kyle.

Leave a Reply

